On Hooks & Needles Today

I see I need to be more regular with my posting.  Since I was here last, I finished the Sweetheart Baby Afghan:

Sweetheart Baby Afghan

Sweetheart Baby Afghan

It took almost a month but was certainly worth the effort.  Next time, though, I’ll use a larger hook.  This one was made with Peaches & Creme worsted weight in colors 47 Pink and 94 Deep Red on a Size 4.5 mm hook (between a G & H).  I really think I might use an I/5.5mm for this weight cotton or might use the mercerized cotton and an H/5.0mm hook.

Yesterday I experimented with Illusion Knitting by making an Easter Egg Dishcloth and have found a bunny rabbit illusion pattern from the same designer I may try today.  Since I got in this morning, I crocheted a “marshmallow bunny”.  Am also working on a crocheted shawl using Fino from Alpaca with a Twist and a size E/3.5mm hook .  Since I’m testing this pattern for someone else, it will be a while before I can post a photo of the shawl.  In the past few days I’ve sent out two more Friendship Scarves and have one I’ve done my share on but holding until a week or so before forwarding it so as not to overwhelm the next person in line to work on it.

My 2-at-a-time socks are languishing on the needles – mainly because I keep forgetting I started them.  There are a few other projects sitting around for much the same reason; hey, they’re still WIPs if I at least pick them up every week or so, right??  They don’t become UFOs or abandoned unless they sit for ~ how long? a month? two months? ~ without being touched.

2 Responses to “On Hooks & Needles Today”


  1. 1 DollyC March 2, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    Beautiful afghan!!! in fact, all your knitting is gorgeous.
    A hug, Dolly

  2. 2 yarnbasket March 3, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Thank you for the compliment. 🙂 Most of my recent projects, including the afghan, are crocheted.


Leave a comment




Location & Hours:

703 N Broadway
Pittsburg, KS
620.235.1152
1YarnBasket@gmail.com

SHOP CLOSED

Professional Memberships



A Few of My Favorite Things:

Knitting Lace & Lace Knitting
Crocheting Shawls
Knitting Socks
Stacks of brightly colored dishcloths I've crocheted
Listening to my granddaughter giggle

"When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I'm feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don't feel so bad."
~ Maria in the Sound of Music

Find me on the internet

Come find me other places on the 'net. I'm Knitz2 on:
Ravelry
KR Forums

Copyright

© Lorene VanBuren and yarnbasket, 2009-2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Lorene VanBuren and Yarn Basket with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
February 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728